The Real Peace

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. – John 14:27

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33

Jesus was talking to his disciples during the last supper and one of the things he told them that in Him (Jesus) they will have their peace despite in the midst of trials. This was also the time shortly before Jesus was brought up to the authorities to be crucified at the cross later on.

Jesus was already encouraging them to take heart despite of the tribulations to come shortly after and even later on in their lives as they will face persecution (and execution to all of them except for Judas who died by suicide and John who died by natural death despite being tortured) for proclaiming the gospel*. Jesus reinforced his statement with a bold assurance that He Himself had overcome the world.

This verse greatly gives me comfort when I finally understood that real lasting peace is not found in this world. You can be on top of a mountain overlooking the majestic clouds and you may feel peace at the moment but usually once you get back to your home place, such feelings of peace is gone when reality sets in.

Jesus’ peace is different from the peace of the world. World peace is the absence of tangible conflict, disturbance or trouble but the peace of the Lord is having this sense of security, stillness of the heart even in the middle of conflict or even chaos. It will take faith in the Lord to have that divine transcending peace not of this world.

Yes, I am human and it doesn’t mean I am no longer troubled or feel distress when there are crisis or conflict I encounter but when the knowledge of God’s assurance in Christ Jesus comes in, this extraordinary peace settles in my heart and gives me the security that all is going to be well and there is a purpose why things happen for a reason.

Romans 8:28 says – And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to his purpose. 

Currently I myself is experiencing stress because of the coming days (also with the rumours of war and our political landscape) and at times my emotion is taking me for a ride but I have to remind myself that I should never let myself be troubled for the Lord’s Holy Spirit dwells in my heart and God will never fail with His promises**. Grounding myself in God’s Word gives me peace, joy and strength to face the days ahead.

I pray that the peace of our Lord be with us always and I say this from the bottom of my heart. Jesus Christ is our salvation (Romans 10:9-10), peace (John 14:27) and comfort (2 Corinthians 1:3) in this life and the next. Jesus is Lord and God.

Philippians 4:13 – For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.

gospel* – Moreover, brethren, I declare to you the gospel which I preached to you, which also you received and in which you stand, by which also you are saved, if you hold fast that word which I preached to you—unless you believed in vain. For I delivered to you first of all that which I also received: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, and that He was buried, and that He rose again the third day according to the Scriptures. (1 Corinthians 15:1–4)

promises** – Promises of God in the New Testament (from GotQuestions).

God promised salvation to all who believe in His Son (Romans 1:16–17). There is no greater blessing than the free gift of God’s salvation.

God promised that all things will work out for good for His children (Romans 8:28). This is the broader picture that keeps us from being dismayed by present circumstances.

God promised comfort in our trials (2 Corinthians 1:3–4). He has a plan, and one day we will be able to share the comfort we receive.

God promised new life in Christ (2 Corinthians 5:17). Salvation is the beginning of a brand-new existence.

God promised every spiritual blessing in Christ (Ephesians 1:3). Whereas, in the Old Testament, Israel had the promise of physical blessing, the church today has been promised spiritual blessings “in the heavenly realms.” Our inheritance is reserved for us (1 Peter 1:4).

God promised to finish the work He started in us (Philippians 1:6). God does nothing in half measures. He started the work in us, and He will be sure to complete it.

God promised peace when we pray (Philippians 4:6–7). His peace is protection. It will “guard your hearts and your minds in Christ.”

God promised to supply our needs (Matthew 6:33; Philippians 4:19). Not that we get everything we want, but our needs will be taken care of. We are more valuable than the birds, and our Heavenly Father feeds them (Matthew 6:26).

Jesus’ promises in the Gospels.

Jesus promised rest (Matthew 11:28–30). Burdens are lifted at Calvary.

Jesus promised abundant life to those who follow Him (John 10:10). Following Jesus brings us more spiritual fulfillment than we could have anticipated. We leave boring behind.

Jesus promised eternal life to those who trust Him (John 4:14). The Good Shepherd also promised to hold us securely: “No one will snatch them out of my hand” (John 10:28).

Jesus promised His disciples power from on high (Acts 1:8). In this power, they “turned the world upside down” (Acts 17:6, ESV).

Jesus promised that He will return for us (John 14:2–3). From then on, we will be with Him always.

There are many more promises of God that could be listed. All of them find their ultimate fulfillment in Jesus Christ, “the radiance of God’s glory” (Hebrews 1:3). “No matter how many promises God has made, they are ‘Yes’ in Christ” (2 Corinthians 1:20).

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

